Cellular Agony

Dealing with Phone Companies

You Can’t Make this Stuff Up

Posted by Paula on December 30, 2010

I was trying to decide whether to call this post “You Can’t Make this Stuff Up” or to call it “Large Corporation Shoots Itself in the Foot…Again.” I have to believe there is someone…that one person…in Orange who is reading this blog and groaning in agony, wondering why…why someone doesn’t just deal with this already.

So our wonder workers are working to help us. They have the patience we no longer do; the energy to follow this. They called Orange, yet again today. In the meantime, we spoke to them. “Do you know that in January, 2010 alone, you paid over 3,000 NIS for nothing?” one asked me.

Yeah. We know that. The difference is that this time, I can say it with a smile. I am so relieved to have someone else be shocked, someone else deal with this. Our wonder worker called tonight. “Orange agreed to open 7 lines for incoming calls.” This still makes communication inside the company impossible, but at least for these numbers it means that some of the embarrassment will be gone.

“What numbers do you want?” I was asked. I picked the 7 most critical number – my husband’s line and mine. Our business depends on it and we’ve already paid tens of thousands of shekels. Our soldier, who cannot be without a phone; our oldest son who volunteers for the ambulance squad and is on-call for emergencies. And on it went, picking the most critical lines – only for incoming calls.

In a joint conversation, I recited the numbers to the Orange representative from the Finance Department. I was angry and though I tried to be polite, I let it be known. I recited a number and then explained – this is the soldier’s number you cut off without warning. Another number – this is the ambulance squad volunteer. And two more – these are my elderly parents – left to travel to Haifa and back, hours on the road.

In 20 minutes, the man promised us – the phones will work. I called everyone and told them in 30 minutes – I wasn’t going to take any chances. I waited an hour – no, the lines didn’t work.

I called our contact back – at the end of this, I’ll explain more, but for now, I’ll leave them anonymous.  He called Orange back and again we gave the numbers. “They work,” said the woman on the line.

“Check them yourself,” he told her.

“They don’t work,” the woman responded after she checked. Orange strikes again. We closed the phone, sure that nothing could be solved. It’s 9:30 p.m. in Israel on a Thursday night. You can’t make this stuff up.

Leave a Reply

 
